Serological evidence and factors associated with Crimean–Congo haemorrhagic fever in sheep in Burkina Faso


Background Crimean–Congo haemorrhagic fever (CCHF) is caused by an orthonairovirus transmitted by bites from infected ticks or by direct contact with blood or tissues of infected ticks, viraemic patients or viraemic livestock.

Objective It was implemented to access the seropositivity and associated factors with CCHF in sheep in two provinces in Burkina Faso.

Methods Three hundred and sixty-four sheep sera have been taken from 73 herds in four municipalities and two provinces. The double-antigen sandwich ELISA test was used to test for antibodies against CCHF virus (CCHFV). Data have also been collected using questionnaire to assess factors associated with CCHF seropositivity.

Results Fifty-four (54 out to 364 sheep were seropositive given an overall seropositivity of 14.8% (95% confidence interval [CI]: 10.9%–19.8%) with an adjusted seropositivity of 13.1%. The study showed that 15.6% (95% CI: 10.2–21.0) and 14.1% (95% CI: 9.2–19.1) of sheep in the provinces of Mouhoun and Kénédougou, respectively, had antibodies against CCHFV. The highest seropositivity was found in Dédougou municipality (24.4%). The study showed that sheep from the municipalities of Dédougou (AOR = 8.4; 95% CI: 2.2–31.8), N'dorola (AOR = 14.7; 95% CI: 3.8–56.8), Sindou (AOR = 4.9; 95% CI: 1.2–20.7), sheep aged between 27 and 36 months (AOR = 6.4; 95% CI: 2.3–17.3) and sheep with ticks (AOR = 24.8; 95% CI: 7.7–80.1) were more likely to be seropositive to CCHF.

Conclusions The study revealed that sheep in Burkina Faso experienced contacts with CCHFV and suggests the importance of implementing control action in the country.


Dahourou, L.D., Akio, S., Savadogo, M., Yougbaré, B., Ouoba, L.B., Tapsoba, A.S.R., Zerbo, L.H., Ilboudo, A.K., Abga, R.L., Traoré, A., Dione, M.M. and Alambédji, R.B. 2024. Serological evidence and factors associated with Crimean–Congo haemorrhagic fever in sheep in Burkina Faso. <i>Veterinary Medicine and Science</i> 10(2): e1322.


  • Dahourou, L.D.
  • Akio, S.
  • Savadogo, M.
  • Yougbaré, B.
  • Ouoba, L.B.
  • Tapsoba, A.S.R.
  • Zerbo, L.H.
  • Ilboudo, Abdoul K.
  • Abga, R.L.
  • Traoré, A.
  • Dione, Michel M.
  • Alambédji, R.B.